BSU Equestrian Meet & Greet

BSU Equestrian Meet & Greet

PLYMPTON, Mass. -- The Bridgewater State University Department of Athletics and Recreation hosted a Meet & Greet with the Bears' newest varsity program on Friday evening at Reunion Farm in Plympton.

The event was organized to celebrate the inaugural season of the BSU Equestrian Team. The squad kicks off the 2018-2019 campaign on Saturday, October 13th at August Farm in Holliston, Massachusetts as the Bears take on Brandeis University and Northeastern University.

Bridgewater State's 12th president, Fred Clark '83, and Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, Dr. Joe Orevecz, were on hand to offer welcoming remarks from the university and to greet the members and coaching staff of Bridgewater State's 22nd varsity program.

BSU Director of Athletics, Dr. Marybeth Lamb, emceed the event.

Dr. Lamb offered a special thanks to Head Coach Geraldine Burnet and Diana Nicol for their steadfast belief in the team and ongoing support of the program. Burnet, who owns and operates Reunion Farm, has served as the team's head coach since 2014. Nicol, a member of the BSU police department, founded the equestrian club program 11 years ago.

Dr. Lamb also thanked President Clark for having the vision to support the team at the varsity level and for his continued commitment to the athletics and recreation programs at Bridgewater State.

A special thanks also went out to Lou Ricciardi '81 for leading the efforts to raise significant funds to provide this opportunity to the equestrian student-athletes.

Also on hand was Ms. Karen Jason, BSU Vice President of Operations. Ms. Jason led the efforts to have new horse jumps built for the team. The new jumps were on display and in use at the barn as the team performed a number of demonstrations.

The 14 members of the BSU Equestrian Team are seniors Heather Griffin, Kayla Martin, Kelly Thies and Michelle Tonkonogy; juniors Sydney Hawes, Maria Marchione, Jeanna Meloni and Erika Tierney; sophomores Emily Adams and Tessa LeBlanc; and freshmen Rebecca Aguiar, Madison Elliott and Kendra Latham.