MASCAC Fall Sportsmanship Teams Announced

MASCAC Fall Sportsmanship Teams Announced

WESTFIELD, Mass. -- Forty-seven Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) student-athletes have been recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship as members of the 2017 Fall Sportsmanship Team.

The MASCAC Sportsmanship Team is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the values of the MASCAC and its Sportsmanship Statement, regardless of their overall performance or statistics for the season.

The sports that are represented on the fall team are men’s and women’s cross country, football, men’s and women’s soccer and volleyball. A student-athlete from each institution is selected by their coach to be placed on the Sportsmanship Team.

Nikolas Beshere of Bridgewater State, Jake Hastings of Fitchburg State, Victor Chaing of Framingham State, Owen Fitzgerald of MCLA, Joe Eastman of Massachusetts Maritime, Tim Forrest of Westfield State and Patrick Scheeler of Worcester State were named to the Sportsmanship Team from men’s cross country.

On the women’s cross country team, Emily Guyon of Bridgewater State, Casey Taylor of Fitchburg State, Morgan Perry of Framingham State, Breanna Castor of MCLA, Kaylene Murphy of Massachusetts Maritime, Jessie Cardin of Westfield State and Mia Rogers of Worcester State take home this year’s sportsmanship honor.

Heading up the Football Sportsmanship Team are Alex McLaughlin of Bridgewater State, Devin Summiel of Fitchburg State, Tom Burns of Framingham State, Matt Massengill of Massachusetts Maritime, Joe Esposito of Plymouth State, Micah Gregory of UMass Dartmouth, Jim Nardi of Western Connecticut State, Zach Howard of Westfield State and Stephen Smialek of Worcester State.

Nicole Simas of Bridgewater State, Makenzie Tenney of Fitchburg State, Hayley McKay of Framingham State, Brittany Whitford of MCLA, Emma McNally of Massachusetts Maritime, Ceara Kelly of Salem State, McKenzie Saltmarsh of Westfield State and Jenna Matthew of Worcester State are the Women’s Soccer Sportsmanship Team honorees.

In men’s soccer, Tim Alzamora of Bridgewater State, Daniel Parker of Fitchburg State, Johance Liverpool of Framingham State, Romeo Grey of MCLA, Chris Beaulieu of Massachusetts Maritime, Greg Enos of Salem State, Brodie Keene of Westfield State and Dillon Pooler of Worcester State land on the Sportsmanship Team.

Finishing out the 2017 Fall Sportsmanship squads is volleyball where Alyssa Kelley of Bridgewater State, Kristina Osborne of Fitchburg State, Vicki Anderson of Framingham State, Maggie Allen of MCLA, Maddie Coughlin of Massachusetts Maritime, Samantha Chaisson of Salem State, Tiara Vaughn of Westfield State and Jillian Dombroski of Worcester State are this year’s honorees.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation’s oldest Division III men’s and women’s playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men’s ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013.