125 Spring Student-Athletes Earn MASCAC All-Academic Honors

125 Spring Student-Athletes Earn MASCAC All-Academic Honors

Spring 2018 MASCAC All-Academic Team (PDF)

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- One hundred twenty-five Bridgewater State University student-athletes have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) with selection to the league’s Spring 2018 All-Academic Team that was released by MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the spring 2018 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Spring All-Academic Team. The sports recognized are baseball, women’s lacrosse, softball, men's tennis and men’s and women’s outdoor track and field. The team also includes student-athletes that competed in winter sports during the spring semester.

Westfield State University placed the most student-athletes on the Spring 2018 MASCAC All-Academic Team with 150 total, while Worcester State University and Bridgewater State were close behind in second and third with 126 and 125, respectively. Salem State University is fourth with 86 while Fitchburg State University is fifth with 81 student-athletes on the team.

“MASCAC student-athletes’ achievements in the classroom are the cornerstone of the conference and Division III philosophy,” said Commissioner Baumann.

“It brings me great pride to see the academic success of our student-athletes along with their athletic achievements and giving back to their communities," Baumann added.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation’s oldest Division III men’s and women’s playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men’s ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as a football affiliate member in 2013.