138 Spring Student-Athletes Earn MASCAC All-Academic Honors

138 Spring Student-Athletes Earn MASCAC All-Academic Honors

Spring 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Team (PDF)

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- One hundred thirty-eight Bridgewater State University student-athletes have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) with selection to the league’s Spring 2017 All-Academic Team that was released by MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the spring 2017 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Spring All-Academic Team. The sports recognized are baseball women’s lacrosse, softball and men’s and women’s outdoor track and field. The team also includes student-athletes that competed in winter sports during the spring semester.

Westfield State University placed the most student-athletes on the Spring 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Team with 158 total, while Bridgewater State and Worcester State University are tied for second with 138. Fitchburg State University is fourth with 98 while Salem State University is fifth with 69 student-athletes on the team.

“MASCAC student-athletes finding success in the classroom is a crucial part of our conference and the NCAA’s philosophy,” said Commissioner Baumann.

“The student-athletes continue to excel at a high level in all aspects of their collegiate life whether in the classroom or on the field of play,” Baumann added.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation’s oldest Division III men’s and women’s playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.

MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men’s ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as a football affiliate member in 2013.