2019 BSU Athletics Awards Banquet

2019 BSU Athletics Awards Banquet

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- The Bridgewater State University Athletics and Recreation Department held its 33rd Annual All Sports Banquet on Tuesday, May 7th, honoring various teams and players.

Director of Athletics, Dr. Mary Beth Lamb, emceed the ceremonies.

President Fred Clark and Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Gene Durgin, were on hand to present the Dr. Adrian Tinsley Scholar Athlete of the Year awards to Elizabeth Ettridge (lacrosse) and Kane Moran (soccer).

Former Director of Athletics, John Harper, returned to present the John C. Harper Athlete of the Year awards to standouts Jayci Andrews (track & field) and Jack Lavanchy (football).

Other major award winners were Rookies of the Year, Delany Langton (soccer) and Ryan Higgins (wrestling); Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award recipients, Nicole Moneghan (swimming) and Travis Basset (football); and the Student-Athlete Leadership Award recipient, Kelly Thies (equestrian).

Also honored were more than 160 student-athletes who maintained at least a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or who earned Dean’s List honors for the fall 2018 semester. The 2018-19 team captains and senior student-athletes were honored as well as the members of Chi Sigma Alpha (National College Athlete Honor Society).

Associate Director of Athletics, Michael Storey, announced the Team Academic Award winners. The women's tennis team had the top grade point average on the women's side checking in at 3.404, while the men's tennis squad was the men's winner with a GPA of 3.528.

Also in attendance were Vice President of Student Affairs, Dr.Joseph Oravecz, and Faculty Athletics Repesentative Dr. Robert MacMillan. Oravecz presented the Rookie of the Year Award winners, while MacmMillan presented the Lee Harrington Unsung Hero awards.

Associate Director of Athletics, Susan Crosby-Tangen, was also on hand to present the Student Leadership Award.

The BSU women's track & field won the Bear Cup for the 2018-2019 academic year. The Bear Cup is awarded, based on a points system, to the varsity team which demonstrates community service, leadership development, and support of other teams while achieving succees in the classroom and in the athletic arena.

Athletics Banquet Annual Award Winners (1986 to Present)

2019 Athletics Awards Banquet Program (PDF)