2018 BSU Athletics Awards Banquet

2018 BSU Athletics Awards Banquet

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- The Bridgewater State University Athletics and Recreation Department held its 32nd Annual All Sports Banquet on Tuesday, May 1st, honoring various teams and players.

Interim Director of Athletics Michael Storey emceed the ceremonies.

President Fred Clark was on hand to present the Dr. Adrian Tinsley Scholar Athlete of the Year awards to Elizabeth Ettridge (Lacrosse) and Rocky DeAndrade (basketball).

Former Director of Athletics, John Harper, returned to present the John C. Harper Athlete of the Year awards to standouts Jayci Andrews  (track & field) and Richard Smith (swimming & diving).

Other major award winners were Rookies of the Year, Ellie Bucknell (track & field) and Gilley Kabamba  (track & field); Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award recipients, Haley Riley (lacrosse) and Michael Kotleski (track & field); Athletic Training Student of the Year, Kassidy Campbell (undergraduate); and the Student-Athlete Leadership Award recipient, Rocky DeAndrade (basketball).

Also honored were more than 140 student-athletes who maintained at least a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or who earned Dean’s List honors for the fall 2017 semester. The 2017-18 team captains and senior student-athletes/trainers were honored as well as the members of Chi Sigma Alpha (National College Athlete Honor Society).

Associate Director of Athletics, Susan Crosby-Tangen, announced the Team Academic Award winners. The women's lacrosse team had the top grade point average on the women's side checking in at 3.43, while the men's tennis squad was the men's winner with a GPA of 3.26.

Also in attendance were Interim Vice President of Student Affairs, Dr. Margaret Jablonski, and Acting Executive Director of The Wellness Center, Dr. Marybeth Lamb. Jablonski presented the Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award winners, while Lamb presented the Rookie of the Year awards.

Athletics Banquet Annual Award Winners (1986 to Present)

2018 Athletics Awards Banquet Program (PDF)